villafriend.blogg.se

Iterm scroll up
Iterm scroll up












You can even set custom background images for terminal windows. When I look at a terminal window, I know immediately where I am. Each profile for different repository + directory combination is set to a slightly different color, so I can quickly tell if I am where I need to be. For example, I have different profiles set up for various directories. We can engage our visual cortex to help quickly determine where we are in a work tree. In my case, I have separate profiles for certain working directories. With the shell integration installed, you can even turn on automatic profile switching when your hostname, username, or directory changes. Profiles are a great solution for customizing your setup without changing global settings. Many of the features of iTerm are improved exponentially with a complicated setup like this, but it’s still powerful even if your needs aren’t as complicated. This is a complicated setup, but it’s emulating a micro-service architecture, both on the frontend and backend, and some mock AWS services running locally. It can be hard to keep track of all of this, so I tend to rely on my tools to do it for me. I’m working across four repositories, multiple separate frontends, multiple backends, and various other runners. I’ve been recommending it to people for almost as long, without really understanding why.īelow, I’ll talk about killer features I can’t live without in a terminal emulator and why iTerm2 is the best choice for you.īut first, let me quickly describe the constraints for a project I’m currently working on, so I can refer to this as I’m describing my iTerm setup.

iterm scroll up

Nearly 10 years ago, one of my first programming mentors told me to use it, and I blindly followed that advice.

iterm scroll up

Until recently, I never reflected on how important it is to my development workflow. Other than my text editor, this is where I spend the most time in my development workflow. The iTerm 2 terminal emulator is one of the most crucial applications in my toolbelt, as I live on the command line.














Iterm scroll up